Aj jaane ki zid na karo.. The Shruti Box

November 14, 2011 § 2 Comments

I guess Facebook has its advantages.. all that networking… but because of that you can find some stuff you like that you didn’t know about. Like this song… it’s by an american clarinet player and musician Shankar Tucker. He has a venture called The Shruti Box where he collaborated with young musicians and re-recorded some famous compositions. This one is originally a gazal by a Farida Khanum and later sung by Asha Bhosale too. Although the latter seems a little… I don’t know… somethings missing there. And I heard this recent Shruti Box version which completely mesmerized me. Its contemporary, has a jazz feel to it and is sung so beautifully by Rohini Revada. I ve been hearing it on repeat all day. its been so long since a song really touched me deeply. Maybe more so now coz the one I love is far away.

The recording is brilliant.. and the words too!

[http://www.youtube.com/user/TheShrutibox#p/u/0/m3ZyU98N3Fk]

Aaj jaane ki zid na karo
Don’t insist on leaving tonight
Yunhi pehlu mein bethey raho
Just stay here close to me 
Haaye mar jaayein ge
I will die
Hum to lutt jaayein ge
I will be lost
Aisi baatein kiya na karo
Don’t say such things
Aaj jaane ki zid na karo
Don’t insist on leaving tonight

Tumhi socho zara
Just ponder for a second
kyu’n na rokein tumhey
Why shouldn’t I stop you?
jaan jaati hai jab uth ke jaatey ho tum
When my life leaves every time you go
tum ko apni qasam jaan-e-jaa’n
I plead you my love
baat itni meri maan lo 
Please listen just this once 
Aaj jaane ki zid na karo
Don’t insist on leaving tonight…

Tagged: , ,

§ 2 Responses to Aj jaane ki zid na karo.. The Shruti Box

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Aj jaane ki zid na karo.. The Shruti Box at Seventy Five degrees West.

meta

